(Insert appropriate adjective here) China!

China, to me, defies being defined. I’m not sure if that is a good thing or not. Usually, when I visit a new country, I KNOW very clearly if I like it or not. And I like things to be that way – in black and white. China put me in a grey territory; figuratively and literally.

Here are my impressions of Beijing where I spent a little more than a week in May.

Immigration at Beijing Capital International Airport
Immigration at Beijing Capital International Airport
This is my very first impression of China – too many people at China Immigration. And I say this coming from India! I must admit that I discounted China’s population. Phisth! How can 1.3 billion be more intimidating than 1.2 billion?! Boy was I wrong…

Grey China
Grey China
China is grey. Enough said.

Bars, micro breweries
Bars, micro breweries
China can be super fun. I have vague memories and pictures (taken a couple of days later) of bars I went to one wild night which took me 24 hours to recover from.

Glorious Food
Glorious Food
Food in China can be weird but tasty.

Bicycles locked down
Bicycles locked down
Chinese people are ingenious. And psyched about being robbed.

Dior
Dior
I saw a Dior art exhibition in Beijing!

Chinese Rock Band
Chinese Rock Band
Chinese rock bands rule!

Tiananmen Square, The Forbidden City, The Great Wall of China
Tiananmen Square, The Forbidden City, The Great Wall of China
History is just around the corner.

Chinese Dog
Chinese Dog
Dogs in China are very fashion-forward.

  
And to wrap it up, beware your mini-bar in China. You never know what you will find there 😉 

So yes, China was not bad. It was fun, even. I did scratch one item off my bucket list – The Great Wall of China. That made the trip totally worth it.

4 thoughts on “(Insert appropriate adjective here) China!

Leave a Reply

