Dior Couture Palette – Voyage Edition

I am a sucker for travel palettes. The concept of having make-up compacted and set to-go in a handy format is very appealing. Recently, I was gifted the Dior Couture Palette – Voyage Edition (Total Makeover Palette) – quite a mouthful, isn’t it!

The packaging is ultra luxurious. It costs USD 100 after all. It comes in a black box with the trademark Dior texture on the cover. There is a velvet case for this box for added luxury.

Processed with Moldiv

There are 2 eyeshadow quads. One for a nude look and one for a smokey eye look. All the powder formulations are very glittery and moderately pigmented. They blend beautifully though. I tried a smokey eye look and I LOVED the smokey well-blended clouds I managed to create on my lids.

A powder foundation – to suit medium complexions in my opinion

A sponge to apply it

2 lip plumpers – nice!

1 lip color – a pinkish hue suited for day wear

1 lip gloss – and a plumy color that is presumably for night wear but I didn’t really like this one.

There is a blush – subtle pink with iridescent particles. Very pretty.

A blush / contouring brush (the same brush can be folded to convert it to a blush brush or a contouring brush) – quite a decent brush

An eye showdown brush – good for patting on color but not for blending.

A lip color brush – decent

Dior Iconic Overcurl mascara – love!

There is also a little booklet inside that offers ideas on how to use the travel set to create different looks.

I thought this pallet very handy and quite complete. And I tried actually travelling with just this and nothing else – major fail. There are some core items that I found painfully missing and no substitution was possible.

  • While the powder foundation suited my skin tone, it was not the best match. I missed my Clinique BB cream and my Mac face and body.
  • There is no concealer in the palette. I most definitely need it for my under-eye circles.
  • I sorely missed my YSL Touché Eclat highlighter
  • And most of all missed my make-up brushes

Despite all this, I still think the Dior Couture Palette – Voyage Edition is a good buy. Just be sure to supplement it with some additional elements from your make-up must-haves, a couple of good lip colors and I think you will manage with the palette very well. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Dior Couture Palette – Voyage Edition

Leave a Reply

