Let’s ‘Pore’ Over This

I don’t like the unsightly pores I have on my face. I am constantly on the lookout for magic portions that will help hid them or better, that will help cure me of them. After using umpteen products, I have shortlisted my top 4 to share with you all. In order of my preference, here they are.

1) The POREfessional PRO balm from Benefit
This balm is by far THE BEST face primer I have ever used. I use just about a fourth of a pea-sized amount which is sufficient to cover my t-zone, the centre of my face and my chin as well. My skin instantly feels as smooth as silk and looks pretty darn perfect too. All I need after this is some BB Cream and blush to complete a polished and well-put-together look that’s perfect for any time of the day and any place.
Price: Approximately $30
My rating: 5/5 stars

2) Guerlain Météorites Perles
Before the Benefit POREfessional came along, this liquid pearl-like solution was my favorite face primer. You will notice from the picture that I have already used a lot of it! It comes in a classy glass bottle with a pump mechanism that dispenses just enough for a single use. There is a lot of science behind this product – especially in how the pumping action breaks down the pearls and mixes it with the liquid in the bottle to finally dispense it for use. The primer feels light on the skin, like water and leaves a luminescent pearl-like glow as if the skin is glowing from within. Given its easy-going but sophisticated nature I like wearing this at maybe a brunch party or at the movies with my girlfriends. I would recommend wearing it alone or under BB Cream but not under foundation. The primer itself is a thin veil over the skin and foundation, I feel, would hide its sheer beauty. It’s a little pricey but I think it’s worth every penny.
Price: Approximately $70
My rating: 4/5 stars

3) Clinique Pore Refining Solutions
As the name suggests this product is not really a primer but more of a solution to address the problem of large pores on ones face. It’s definitely not a miracle portion but it works decently well. It comes in a slim pump mechanism bottle. A squirt is enough for a single use. I use it at night after my Clinique 3-step process. I’ve been using it for a year now and I feel that it has helped my problem skin get better.
Price: Approximately $44
My rating: 4/5

4) Mac Prep + Prime
This was the first primer I bought after reading many blogs that sang paeans about its wonders. I was sorely disappointed after using it just once. It felt thick and too shiny, resulting in an overly done-up look that just didn’t feel right. The primer comes in typical Mac packaging – minimalist and black, with a pump mechanism that again dispenses enough for a single use. The primer itself is white and I feel it works better with foundation else it shines and attracts unwanted attention under the lights. It didn’t work very well with my oily skin and now I use it only when I feel guilty about not using it!
Price: Approximately $30
My rating: 2/5 stars

Hope this post was useful to you all. Take care.

20131210-230722.jpg

2 thoughts on “Let’s ‘Pore’ Over This

  1. Ooh, I have the Benefit POREfessional and Guerlain Météorites Perles Light-Diffusing Primer too, and though I love the both of them I think I actually prefer Guerlain’s! I’m glad you also like them. They do wonders for my makeup! 😉

    Thanks for the follow! I followed you back. x
    ♥️ Erika’s Secret Closet

    1. Hi Erika! Thanks for the follow back 🙂 I followed your blog as I noticed some similarities in the products you and I have reviewed and liked – POREfessional and Guerlains for example. I love Guerlain’s packaging. It’s so classy.
      Have a happy new year! xx

Leave a Reply

